Welcome to Chennestone Primary School, Byron Primary School, Ridgeway Primary School and Scott’s Primary School! We are excited to have you join VotesforSchools. 


Who we Are

We are teachers who wanted to create a space for students to talk about current issues that affect them the most and who are passionate about promoting the impact of student voice

The Team


Co-Founder and Director of Education

Kate taught for a number of years in the secondary sector during which she was a school senior leader heading up the community cohesion strategy. Kate has a passion for student voice and making politics relevant to young people.

Favourite VoteTopic - Are young people interested in politics?


Content Developer

Aisling was an English secondary school teacher for three years before joining VotesforSchools and is passionate about tackling fake news. She's the proud owner of our office dog, Ginny!

Favourite Votetopic - Is gaming good for you?


Content Developer

Amy came across VotesforSchools when she was working as a primary school teacher and liked it so much she decided to join us in August 2019 as a content developer specialising in KS1 and KS2.

Favourite VoteTopic - Is fake news always bad?


Content Developer

Georgie has taught as an English language teacher in India, has a Master’s in Children’s Literature and was the resident Book Doctor at her previous school. She joined VotesforSchools in 2017 and is now our resident grammar expert!

Favorite VoteTopic - Do bestselling books encourage sexism?


Content Developer

Jude has taught in UK schools for the last 21 years. She has taught in primary and secondary schools and is passionate about outstanding teaching of PSHCE. She has worked with schools and local authorities to promote pupil wellbeing.

Favourite VoteTopic - Do aliens exist?


Head of Operations and Data

Lara joined VotesforSchools in 2020. She supports the daily running of VotesforSchools and is passionate about bringing the students' voices to life. Lara produces our impact to get the voice of young people into the wider world.

Favourite VoteTopic - Should we approach boys' and girls' mental health differently?


Director of Partnerships

Penny joined VotesforSchools in Spring 2016. She has taught English all across the world and worked in the charity sector before becoming a secondary school Citizenship teacher. She was previously an Independent School trustee.

Favourite VoteTopic - Do social media companies listen enough to young people?


Educational Partnerships

Lizzy has worked in education for the past 25 years as a teacher and teacher educator in primary and secondary schools in the UK and abroad. She specialises in Philosophy for Children and Values-based Education. She also has a passion for student voice and global education.

Favourite VoteTopic - Can one person really make a difference?


Schools Support Officer

Michelle joined Votes for Schools in July 2019. She has 30 years' experience working in both the private and public sector in accounts, administration, recruitment and office management.

Favourite VoteTopic - Do we need more female villains in books?



Gavin manages an accounting practice and draws from his experience of working in different industries to add value to VotesforSchools' financial management processes.

Favourite VoteTopic - Are super-size classes the future?

Education Advisory Board

Ben Spinks


As Chief Executive Ben leads BDSIP’s relationship with all key customers primarily local schools and the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham. Ben reports to BDSIP’s chair. Ben chairs the VotesforSchools Educational Advisory Board.

Shelina Khatun

Prevent Education Officer

Shelina is the PEO for the London Borough of Barking & Dagenham. Previously she was an RE teacher working in secondary schools and sixth forms. Shelina's passion is to help young people have a voice.

Helen Keevil

Assistant Headteacher

Helen Keevil is in charge of Pupil Welfare at Epsom College with a particular focus on e-safety & wellbeing. As a multi-linguist she uses IT in the classroom to deliver interactive lessons in French, German & Spanish.

Dominic Mulholland


Dominic has been in the education profession for over 21 years and currently the headteacher of a junior school in Essex. He has had the pleasure of working with VotesforSchools in two schools at both primary and secondary level.

Dave Moran

Executive Headteacher

Dave is Executive Headteacher at The Ashwood Academy which is part of the Catch22 Multi Acadamies Trust. Dave has worked with VotesforSchools since it's launch.

Nick Morley


Nick is Head of School for two schools that are part of the TBAP Multi Academy Trust in Cambridgeshire. Prior to working for the TBAP Trust, Nick was an Assistant Principal at a large secondary school in Cambridge.

Founding Members

Kate Harris

Co-founder and Director

Kate has worked in the education and charity sector focusing on education for her whole career. She has worked on a assessment nationally for citizenship for QCDA and is a board advisor for a teacher training college.

Vivienne Creevey


Vivienne’s experience in educational and children’s book publishing with HarperCollins and Penguin convinced her of the need to involve young people in the decisions that affect them. She is a Director of Polka Children’s Theatre and Turner’s House Trust.

Natasha Oppenheim


Natasha is an experienced entrepreneur, advisor and angel investor to early stage companies. Previously she was a barrister and has worked in management consulting. Natasha is a Business Mentor with the Princes Trust and holds an MBA.

In September 2020 we launched our Youth Advisory Board:

  • To advise on the interests and needs of young people in all matters to do with student voice.
  • To support young people to influence, shape and directly be involved in making positive change.
  • To ensure the voice of young people is heard by supporting a broad range of initiatives.

We invited our schools to nominate representatives and the board meets online three times a year. If you would like to find out more please email lizzy@votesforschools.com.

We welcome students from the following schools in 2020-21: